Humor

Eligible : a novel book cover

Eligible : a novel

Curtis Sittenfeld

FICTION Sittenfe Curtis
Fiction, Humor

In this modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice, takes place in Cincinnati. Despite now being in their twenties, the three youngest Bennet sisters, Mary, Kitty, and Lydia still live at home with their parents. The eldest two, Liz and Jane, 38 and 39 respectively, returned home from New York for the summer when their father, Mr. Bennet, suffers a heart attack. Chip Bingley, a doctor and a former contestant on a Bachelor style TV show called Eligible recently had moved to Cincinnati. Mrs. Bennet, keen for her daughters to get married, arranged for her daughters to meet him at a barbecue.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

Hyperbole and a half : unfortunate situations, flawed coping mechanisms, mayhem, and other things that happened book cover

Hyperbole and a half : unfortunate situations, flawed coping mechanisms, mayhem, and other things that happened

Allie Brosh

817.6 /Brosh
Nonfiction, Humor

Collects autobiographical, illustrated essays and cartoons from the author's popular blog and related new material that humorously and candidly deals with her own idiosyncrasies and battles with depression.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

As you wish : inconceivable tales from the making of The princess bride book cover

As you wish : inconceivable tales from the making of The princess bride

Cary Elwes

791.4372 /Princess
Nonfiction, Humor

From actor Cary Elwes, who played the iconic role of Westley in The Princess Bride, comes a first-person account and behind-the-scenes look at the making of the cult classic film filled with never-before-told stories, exclusive photographs, and interviews with costars Robin Wright, Wallace Shawn, Billy Crystal, Christopher Guest, and Mandy Patinkin, as well as author and screenwriter William Goldman, producer Norman Lear, and director Rob Reiner.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

The princess bride : S. Morgenstern's classic tale of true love and high adventure : The "good parts" version, abridged book cover

The princess bride : S. Morgenstern's classic tale of true love and high adventure : The "good parts" version, abridged

William Goldman

FICTION Goldman, William
Fiction, Humor

In a Renaissance-era world, a young woman named Buttercup lives on a farm in the country of Florin. She abuses the farm hand Westley, calling him "farm boy" and demands that he perform chores for her. Westley's response to her demands is always "As you wish." She eventually realizes that what he is saying is, "I love you." After Buttercup realizes that she loves him and confesses her feelings, Westley goes to seek his fortune so they can marry. Buttercup later receives a letter that the Dread Pirate Roberts attacked his ship at sea. Believing Westley dead, Buttercup sinks into despair. Later she reluctantly agrees to marry Prince Humperdinck, heir to the throne of Florin.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

The Eyre affair book cover

The Eyre affair

Jasper Fforde

SCIENCE FICTION Fforde, Jasper
Science Fiction, Humor

Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, a detective with SO-27, the LiteraTec division, who's job is to solve crimes related to literature. When the original manuscript of Martin Chuzzlewit by Charles Dickens disappears under impossible circumstances, Thursday finds herself drawn into an investigation that is more deadly than anything she has experienced thus far in her career.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

The Wee Free Men book cover

The Wee Free Men

Terry Pratchett

YOUNG ADULT FICTION Pratchett, Terry
Young Adult, Humor

A young witch-to-be named Tiffany teams up with the Wee Free Men, a clan of six-inch-high blue men, to rescue her baby brother and ward off a sinister invasion from Fairyland.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

Fool book cover

Fool

Christopher Moore

FICTION Moore, Christopher
Humor

Pocket, King Lear's fool, sets out to straighten out the mess the mad king has made of the kingdom and the royal family, only to discover the truth about his own heritage.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

Four to score book cover

Four to score

Janet Evanovich

MYSTERY Evanovich, Janet
Mystery, Humor

Stephanie Plum, Trenton, New Jersey's favorite pistol-packing, condom-carrying bounty hunter, is back---and on the trail of a revenge-seeking waitress who's skipped bail. With the help of seventy-three-year-old Grandma Mazur, ex-hooker Lula, a transvestite musician named Sally Sweet, and the all-too-sexy Joe Morelli, Stephanie might just catch her woman. Then again, with more mishaps than there are exits on the Jersey Turnpike---including murders, firebombs, and Stephanie's arch-rival bounty hunter chasing after the same fugitive---Stephanie better watch her back big-time if she wants to live to crack this case.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

Much ado about nothing book cover

Much ado about nothing

William Shakespeare

822.33 /MuchAdo
Classics, Humor

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

Lobster is the best medicine : a collection of comics about friendship book cover

Lobster is the best medicine : a collection of comics about friendship

Liz Climo

COMIC Climo
Humor

A celebration of friendship returns readers to a quirky animal kingdom where a menagerie of grizzlies, bunny rabbits, and other critters humorously explore relationship issues.

Victoria's picture

A pure and honest series of comics documenting the ups and down of friendship. This book is so cute. Fans of Sarah Anderson Nathan W. Pyle and Allie Brosh will get a kick out of this. -Victoria