It's Awards Season: Vote in ICPL's Mock Awards!

Forget the Oscars - ICPL children's librarians are getting pumped for the Youth Media Awards!

There are many literary medals awarded by the American Library Association each year at their Midwinter Conference - this year it's on January 27 - but the two heavyweights in children's lit are the Caldecott and Newbery.

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children published in the previous year. The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children published in the previous year. In other words, the Caldecott is for the best illustrations and the Newbery is for the best writing. See past winners here: Caldecott and Newbery.

ICPL, like many public and school libraries across the country, participates in a Mock Awards cycle leading up to the big official announcement of the winners. We choose the books we think ought to win the title of "most distinguished" - and you help us decide on one ultimate winner!

Here are this year's nominees, selected by ICPL children's librarians:

Mock Caldecott 

Mock Newbery

Here's where you come in: visit before January 23 to vote for your favorite! ICPL will tabulate the votes and announce the winners of our Mock Caldecott and Mock Newbery just before the American Library Association announces theirs - and we'll see if ICPL predicts the winner...


Recent News

Add new comment