Library Board

The Library is governed by a semi-autonomous nine-member board of trustees; which is empowered by state law and city ordinance to set policy, determine goals and objectives, direct the use of monies appropriated or gifted to the Library, and to employ staff.

See Board Policies

Board Meetings

The Library Board meets at 5pm on the fourth Thursday of each month, and the third Thursday in November and December.
See upcoming meetings >

Board Meeting Packets

Public Comments

From the Policy 101 Bylaws: Article 6, Section 3, Public Comment. Members of the public may address the Board at the beginning of meetings during the public comment agenda item. Individual comments are limited to no more than five (5) minutes, and may be extended by the presiding officer. Library staff time will not be used to prepare materials for public comment. Individuals addressing the Board must sign in with name and address. In order to comply with open meetings laws and proper meeting procedure, Trustees cannot engage in discussion or debate during the public comment period.

Board Statements

Board statement on intellectual freedom
Intellectual freedom is a core value of ICPL and of the American Library Association. We stand in solidarity with libraries and library workers facing challenges and censorship. Issued February 2022.

Member Contacts

Email all Board Members at

Carol Kirsch - President
07/01/2017 to 06/30/2023

Claire Matthews
12/01/2021 to 06/30/2023

Dan Stevenson
07/01/2021 to 6/30/2027

DJ Johnk - Secretary*
07/01/19 to 06/30/2025

Hannah Shultz*
07/01/19 to 06/30/2025

John Raeburn

Robin Paetzold**
07/01/2017 to 06/30/2023

Tom Rocklin - Vice President
07/01/19 to 06/30/2025

* Member of Library Friends Foundation Board
** Johnson County representative