Home

Limited services

Current hours

Monday to Saturday: 10am - 6pm

Returning items

All book drops are open.

Please allow 4-5 days for returned items to be removed from your account.

No late fines will be charged.

Borrowing items

Borrow items with Lobby Grab & Go or mail delivery. Place a hold in the catalog or by phone to get started.

Read more Holds FAQs

Other questions? Learn more from our Library Closure FAQ

Featured Collections

Check out our Digital Library

ICPL Recommends

Decolonize Your Diet book cover
Decolonize Your Diet book cover

Decolonize Your Diet

Luz Calvo and Catriona Rueda Esquibel


Cookbooks

Great Exploration into Indigenous Mexican Cuisine!

The author Michael Pollan advises in Food Rules, "Don't eat anything your grandmother wouldn't recognize;" meaning the food industry has radically changed; especially the Western diet. These words rang particularly true when Decolonize Your Diet co-author Luz Calvo was diagnosed with breast cancer (despite being a vegetarian for 15 years.) She began to research and found that immigrant born Latinas had significantly lower rates of breast cancer than US born Latinas; prompting her to revisit the indigenous cuisine of Mexico. What follows in this cookbook are some amazing recipes cooked with high amounts of fiber, fruits, vegetables and revolutionary love. Fans of Sean Sherman and Beth Dooley's The Sioux Chef's Indigenous Kitchen and Michael W. Twitty's The Cooking Gene will deeply appreciate this cookbook. Also, try the Caldo De Quinoa; it's a great soup and Winter is Coming! -Victoria

Pachinko book cover
Pachinko book cover

Pachinko

Min Jin Lee

FICTION Lee Min
Fiction, Historical Fiction

"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--

Terrific historical detail, an engaging story, and compelling characters. -Jason

Utopia Avenue book cover
Utopia Avenue book cover

Utopia Avenue

David Mitchell


Fiction, Historical Fiction

Soho, London, 1967. Folk-rock-psychedelic quartet Utopia Avenue is formed. Guitarist Jasper de Zoet, a shy, half-Dutch public-school musical prodigy, was hearing voices long before he dropped acid. Keyboardist Elf Holloway must defy the prejudices of her bank manager father, her housewife mother, and her age to forge her own career. Bassist Dean Moss cannot, will not, spend his life on the factory floor like everyone else in Gravesend. Band manager Levon Frankland--gay, Jewish, and Canadian--is not unduly burdened by conscience. The drummer is a drummer. Over two years and two albums, Utopia Avenue navigates the dark end of the Sixties: its parties, drugs and egos, political change and personal tragedy; and the trials of life as a working band in London, the provinces, European capitals and, finally, the promised land of America. What is art? What is fame? What is music? How can the whole be more than the sum of its parts? Can idealism change the world? How does your youth shape your life? This is the story of Utopia Avenue. Not everyone lives to the end.

A decent historical fiction novel from one of my favorite writers. Engaging characters with lots of cameos from classic rock heroes, nothing monumental here but solid writing and pretty fun. -Jason

The dragon thief book cover
The dragon thief book cover

The dragon thief

Zetta Elliott

eBOOK
Read Woke, Fantasy, Adventure

Told in two voices, Jax and Kavita, Kavita's brother Vik, and new friend Kenny try to return the baby dragon to the realm of magic before anything else goes wrong.

I'm currently reading this one aloud at bedtime for the second time! No surprises that the sequel to Dragons in a Bag is just as fun. -Casey

The pull of the stars : a novel book cover
The pull of the stars : a novel book cover

The pull of the stars : a novel

Emma Donoghue

FICTION Donoghue Emma
Historical Fiction

"In an Ireland doubly ravaged by war and disease, Nurse Julia Power works at an understaffed hospital in the city center, where expectant mothers who have fallen sick are quarantined into a separate ward to keep the plague at bay. Into Julia's regimented world step two outsiders, a woman doctor who is a rumored Rebel, and a teenage girl, Bridie, procured by the nuns from their orphanage as an extra set of hands. At first, this Bridie seems unschooled in life, she makes up a bed with only the rubber mat and savors the weak tea and barely edible porridge from the hospital kitchen. But in the intensity of this ward, over three brutal days, Julia and the women come together in unexpected ways."--Publisher.

Emma Donoghue is one of my current favorite writers. Her books always resonate with me and "The Pull of the Stars" is no exception. Set in a maternity ward for expectant mothers with influenza (...in 1918...in Ireland), Donoghue again takes on grim, almost impossible circumstances with characters who try to manage and do their best. Enter Nurse Julia Power. She works long days, does everything in her power to help her patients, and goes home to her brother, who hasn't spoken since returning from the war front. On the eve of her 30th birthday, overworked and lonely Julia meets Bridie, an eager young helper from one of the church orphanages, and Doctor Kathleen Lynn, an Irish rebel doctor with new ideas on how to help women give birth. Over the next three days, Nurse Power has the best days, and worst, of her life. -Anne M

A deadly education : a novel book cover
A deadly education : a novel book cover

A deadly education : a novel

Naomi Novik

SCIENCE FICTION Novik Naomi
Fantasy

"Enter a school of magic unlike any you have ever encountered: There are no teachers, no holidays, and no friendships save strategic ones. Survival is more important than any letter grade, for the school won't allow its students to leave until they graduate . . . or die. The rules are deceptively simple: Don't walk the halls alone. And beware of the monsters who lurk everywhere. El is uniquely prepared for the school's dangers. She may be without allies, but she possesses a dark power strong enough to level mountains and wipe out untold millions. It would be easy enough for El to defeat the monsters that prowl the school. The problem? Her powerful dark magic might also kill all the other students. So El is trying her hardest not to use her power . . . at least not until she has no other option. Meanwhile, her fellow student, the insufferable Orion Lake, is making heroism look like a breeze. He's saved hundreds of lives--including El's - with his flashy combat magic. But in the spring of their junior year, after Orion rescues El for the second time and makes her look like more of an outcast than she already is, she reaches an impulsive conclusion: Orion Lake must die. But El is about to learn some lessons she never could in the classroom: About the school. About Orion Lake. And about who she really is."--Provided by publisher.

Novik delivers another super satisfying fantasy with her lethal twist on a school for wizards with characters you'll love. It's an interesting commentary on the haves and have nots as well. I can't wait for the sequel! -Brian

NEW

More new materials
Vote early at the Iowa City Public Library
Free in-person computer access
Battle of the Brains
Little Resurrections: Laboring to Find Wonder in Our Work
New automatic renewals: not a trick, it's a treat
No Impact Man
Staff Picks Just for you - get recommendations on what to read next
Visit our YouTube playlist for Children's Storytimes
Access the Abdo Zoom Databases now for free

News

PINNED
by Jason October 16, 2020
Early voting for the 2020 General Election has begun in Johnson...
PINNED
by Sam October 16, 2020
Honoring the Journey
by Jacy October 21, 2020
As the weather cools, and the safety measures are still a necessary...
by Melody October 20, 2020
Voracious readers, take note! When you want to get into a new book...
by Shawna October 10, 2020
The Iowa City Public Library Bookmobile can soon be found again on...
by Beth September 25, 2020
One of our most cherished freedoms in the...
by Elsworth September 23, 2020
Change can be hard, and at Iowa City Public Library, working through...
by Frannie September 23, 2020
When it comes to books, are you all about reading a series? Do you...
by Heidi K September 22, 2020
By March, it seemed obvious the U.S. would be shutting down soon....