Science Fiction

The mysterious Benedict Society and the riddle of ages book cover

The mysterious Benedict Society and the riddle of ages

Trenton Lee Stewart

ON ORDER LARGE PRINT
Kids, Science Fiction

"After starring in three adventures, the inimitable quartet of Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance haven't had a mission together in some time. But with the arrival of a new Society member--and a new threat--they must reunite to face dilemmas more dangerous than ever before, including the return of the villainous Mr. Curtain and his Ten Men and a formidable enemy with a mystifying ability to track their every move." -- publisher's description.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

The mysterious Benedict Society and the riddle of ages book cover

The mysterious Benedict Society and the riddle of ages

Trenton Lee Stewart

ON ORDER LARGE PRINT
Kids, Science Fiction

"After starring in three adventures, the inimitable quartet of Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance haven't had a mission together in some time. But with the arrival of a new Society member--and a new threat--they must reunite to face dilemmas more dangerous than ever before, including the return of the villainous Mr. Curtain and his Ten Men and a formidable enemy with a mystifying ability to track their every move." -- publisher's description.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

The giver book cover

The giver

Lois Lowry

jFICTION Lowry, Lois
Kids, Science Fiction

Given his lifetime assignment at the Ceremony of Twelve, Jonas becomes the receiver of memories shared by only one other in his community and discovers the terrible truth about the society in which he lives.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

The giver book cover

The giver

Lois Lowry

jFICTION Lowry, Lois
Kids, Science Fiction

Given his lifetime assignment at the Ceremony of Twelve, Jonas becomes the receiver of memories shared by only one other in his community and discovers the terrible truth about the society in which he lives.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

A wrinkle in time book cover

A wrinkle in time

Madeleine L'Engle

jFICTION L'Engle, Madeleine
Kids, Science Fiction

Thirteen-year-old Meg Murry, her little brother Charles Wallace, and their friend Calvin are guided by unearthly strangers as they go on a journey through space and time to search for Meg's and Charles' scientist father who disappeared while experimenting with a new form of space travel.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

A wrinkle in time book cover

A wrinkle in time

Madeleine L'Engle

jFICTION L'Engle, Madeleine
Kids, Science Fiction

Thirteen-year-old Meg Murry, her little brother Charles Wallace, and their friend Calvin are guided by unearthly strangers as they go on a journey through space and time to search for Meg's and Charles' scientist father who disappeared while experimenting with a new form of space travel.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

The wild robot escapes book cover

The wild robot escapes

Peter Brown

jFICTION Brown, Peter
Kids, Science Fiction

Shipwrecked on a remote, wild island, Robot Roz learned from the unwelcoming animal inhabitants and adapted to her surroundings--but can she survive the challenges of the civilized world and find her way home to Brightbill and the island? After being captured by the Recons and returned to civilization for reprogramming, Roz is sent to Hilltop Farm where she befriends her owner's family and animals, but pines for her son, Brightbill.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

The wild robot book cover

The wild robot

Peter Brown

jFICTION Brown, Peter
Kids, Science Fiction

Roz the robot discovers that she is alone on a remote, wild island with no memory of where she is from or why she is there, and her only hope of survival is to try to learn about her new environment from the island's hostile inhabitants.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

This is how you lose the time war book cover

This is how you lose the time war

Amal El-Mohtar

SCIENCE FICTION El-Mohtar Amal
Science Fiction

Among the ashes of a dying world, an agent of the Commandant finds a letter. It reads: Burn before reading. Thus begins an unlikely correspondence between two rival agents hellbent on securing the best possible future for their warring factions. Now, what began as a taunt, a battlefield boast, grows into something more. Something epic. Something romantic. Something that could change the past and the future. Except the discovery of their bond would mean death for each of them.

Brian's picture

Any description of this book will sell it short, but I will say this--don't let the Sci-Fi aspect scare you off if it's not your thing. This is a beautifully written romance wearing Sci-Fi clothing. -Brian

Wanderers : a novel book cover

Wanderers : a novel

Chuck Wendig

SCIENCE FICTION Wendig Chuck
Science Fiction

A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world's last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival. Shana wakes up one morning to discover her little sister in the grip of a strange malady. She appears to be sleepwalking. She cannot talk and cannot be woken up. And she is heading with inexorable determination to a destination that only she knows. But Shana and are sister are not alone. Soon they are joined by a flock of sleepwalkers from across America, on the same mysterious journey. And like Shana, there are other "shepherds" who follow the flock to protect their friends and family on the long dark road ahead. For on their journey, they will discover an America convulsed with terror and violence, where this apocalyptic epidemic proves less dangerous than the fear of it. As the rest of society collapses all around them--and an ultraviolent militia threatens to exterminate them--the fate of the sleepwalkers depends on unraveling the mystery behind the epidemic. The terrifying secret will either tear the nation apart--or bring the survivors together to remake a shattered world.--

Meredith's picture

Added by Meredith