Mystery

The night gardener book cover

The night gardener

Jonathan Auxier

jFICTION Auxier, Jonathan
Kids, Thriller, Suspense, Mystery, Horror

Irish orphans Molly, fourteen, and Kip, ten, travel to England to work as servants in a crumbling manor house where nothing is quite what it seems to be, and soon the siblings are confronted by a mysterious stranger and secrets of the cursed house.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

Small spaces book cover

Small spaces

Katherine Arden

jFICTION Arden, Katherine
Kids, Thriller, Suspense, Mystery, Horror

After eleven-year-old Ollie's school bus mysteriously breaks down on a field trip, she has to venture through frightening woods, relying on her wits to survive and sticking to small spaces.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

A season for the dead book cover

A season for the dead

David Hewson

MYSTERY Hewson, David
Fiction, Mystery

Candice's picture

This book is the first in Hewson's series featuring Nic Costa, a Roman police officer. Rome is an old, amazing city, the modern-day inhabitants live side-by-side with the remains of thousands of years of history, and Hewson makes very good use of this. I often find myself looking up things that get mentioned (the Via Appia, the Etruscan blue demon, and Beatrice Cenci are three good examples!) and I'm better for it. The mysteries themselves, while taking place in the current day, relate to some part of Roman history. Coupled with the wonderful fact that there is so much architecture from the past still remaining makes the history, the mystery, and the city come alive in an exciting and enlightening way. -Candice

Murder in the Marais book cover

Murder in the Marais

Cara Black

MYSTERY Black, Cara
Mystery, Fiction

Aimee Leduc, the heroine of this new series set in Paris, specializes in corporate security, but with business in the toilet, she's open to working for a Jewish Nazi hunter. A woman found dead with a swastika carved into her forehead sends Aimee searching for the link between French neo-Nazis, an EU trade agreement, and a killer whose victims span 50 years. The jam-packed plot is occasionally hard to follow (and if readers miss the fact the story is set in 1993, the characters' ages will seem out of whack). But the characterizations are strong, the action nonstop, and the evocation of both occupied Paris and the contemporary city is awash in vivid detail, right down to a tour of the Paris sewers. Most of all, though, it's the rough-and-tumble Aimee who gets this series off to an explosive start.Copyright 2000 Booklist Reviews

Candice's picture

Cara Black writes mysteries that take place in different parts of Paris, and she takes the time to make the location--its history, its people, its social situation--part of the story. Murder in the Marais is the first in the series that features spiky-haired Aimee Leduc, computer programmer and somewhat unwilling private investigator. Throughout the series a world has developed around the main characters, and Paris comes alive in all of its chaotic glory. -Candice

The black ascot book cover

The black ascot

Charles Todd

MYSTERY Todd Charles
Mystery

An astonishing tip from a grateful ex-convict seems implausible--but Inspector Ian Rutledge is intrigued and brings it to his superior at Scotland Yard. Alan Barrington, who has evaded capture for ten years, is the suspect in an appalling murder during Black Ascot, the famous 1910 royal horserace honoring the late King Edward VII. His disappearance began a manhunt that consumed Britain for a decade. Now it appears that Barrington has returned to England, giving the Yard a last chance to retrieve its reputation and see justice done.

Meredith's picture

Added by Meredith

An anonymous girl book cover

An anonymous girl

Greer Hendricks

FICTION Hendricks Greer
Fiction, Mystery

"When Jessica Farris signs up for a psychology study conducted by the mysterious Dr. Shields, she thinks all she'll have to do is answer a few questions, collect her money, and leave. But as the questions grow more and more intense and invasive and the sessions become outings where Jess is told what to wear and how to act, she begins to feel as though Dr. Shields may know what she's thinking...and what she's hiding."--

Meredith's picture

Added by Meredith

The scholar book cover

The scholar

Dervla McTiernan

MYSTERY Mctierna Dervla
Mystery

When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal--her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland's most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy--it has even funded Emma's own ground-breaking research. As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac's running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy? A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin, an "expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden" (Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter), The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry.

Meredith's picture

Added by Meredith

Stalking Jack the Ripper book cover

Stalking Jack the Ripper

Kerri Maniscalco

YOUNG ADULT FICTION Maniscal Kerri
Historical Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Young Adult

A gothic murder mystery set in gritty Victorian-era London, where an intrepid society girl finds herself embroiled in the investigation of a serial killer known as Jack the Ripper.

Callie's picture

The mixing of old Whitechapel London, family secrets, and a killer on the loose gives off the perfect recipe for a dark, atmospheric who-dun-it mystery. -Callie

And then there were none book cover

And then there were none

Agatha Christie

eAUDIO
Mystery, Suspense

Ten strangers are invited to an island by a mysterious host, and start to get killed one by one. Could one of them be the killer?

Callie's picture

The full-cast audiobook adds to the atmospheric aura of this classic mystery. -Callie

The mother-in-law : a novel book cover

The mother-in-law : a novel

Sally Hepworth

FICTION Hepworth Sally
Fiction, Mystery

"A twisty, compelling new novel about one woman's complicated relationship with her mother-in-law that ends in death... From the moment Lucy met her husband's mother, Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana was exquisitely polite, and properly friendly, but Lucy knew that she was not what Diana envisioned. But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice who helped female refugees assimilate to their new country. Diana was happily married to Tom, and lived in wedded bliss for decades. Lucy wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law. That was five years ago. Now, Diana has been found dead, a suicide note near her body. Diana claims that she no longer wanted to live because of a battle with cancer. But the autopsy finds no cancer. The autopsy does find traces of poison and suffocation. Who could possibly want Diana dead? Why was her will changed at the eleventh hour to disinherit both of her adult children and their spouses? With Lucy's secrets getting deeper and her relationship with her mother-in-law growing more complex as the pages turn, this new novel from Sally Hepworth is sure to add to her growing legion of fans." --

Meredith's picture

This book was not what I expected, but in a good way! Told in alternating chapters, sometimes in the past and other times in the present, The Mother-In-Law manages to be a family drama, love story, tale of female bonding, and mystery in one. Highly enjoyable! -Meredith