Mystery

The truants book cover

The truants

Kate Weinberg

FICTION Weinberg Kate
Suspense, Mystery

People disappear when they most want to be seen. Jess Walker has come to a concrete campus under the flat grey skies of East Anglia for one reason: To be taught by the mesmerizing and rebellious Dr Lorna Clay, whose seminars soon transform Jess's thinking on life, love, and Agatha Christie. Swept up in Lorna's thrall, Jess falls in with a tightly-knit group of rule-breakers--Alec, a courageous South African journalist with a nihilistic streak; Georgie, a seductive, pill-popping aristocrat; and Nick, a handsome geologist with layers of his own. But when tragedy strikes the group, Jess turns to Lorna. Together, the two seek refuge on a remote Italian island, where Jess tastes the life she's long dreamed of--and uncovers a shocking secret that will challenge everything she's learned.

Anne M's picture

Looking for a back to school college mystery? How about a modern mystery inspired by Agatha Christie? "The Truants" would fit the bill! Jess chose her college to study under Dr. Lorna Clay and is amazed and honored that the professor takes a shine to her. She also feels like she has found a place at school with a new group of friends. But of course, there are secrets. And things get complicated. And then someone goes missing...Great read for a fall night. -Anne M

The sound of danger book cover

The sound of danger

Mac Barnett

ON ORDER BOOK
Mystery

"This is a story of stolen violins. It's got mummies, museums, sandwiches, hostages, and a dangerous showdown with the Russian Red Army Choir. Open this book to find out more about my adventures. But beware--this mission is top secret and very dangerous!" -- cover.

Anne W's picture

new book in the Mac B, Kid Spy series! -Anne W

Before the ever after book cover

Before the ever after

Jacqueline Woodson

ON ORDER BOOK
Mystery

ZJ's friends Ollie, Darry and Daniel help him cope when his father, a beloved professional football player, suffers severe headaches and memory loss that spell the end of his career.--

Anne W's picture

new book in the Mac B, Kid Spy series! -Anne W

The case of Windy Lake book cover

The case of Windy Lake

Michael Hutchinson

ON ORDER BOOK
Mystery

"Sam, Otter, Atim, and Chickadee are four inseparable cousins growing up on the Windy Lake First Nation. Nicknamed the Mighty Muskrats for their habit of laughing, fighting, and exploring together, the cousins find that each new adventure adds to their reputation. When a visiting archaeologist goes missing, the cousins decide to solve the mystery of his disappearance. In the midst of community conflict, family concerns, and environmental protests, the four get busy following every lead. From their base of operations in a fort made out of an old school bus, the Mighty Muskrats won't let anything stop them from solving their case!" P. [4] of cover.

Anne W's picture

New to our library really good mystery with Indigenous characters! -Anne W

Spy school revolution book cover

Spy school revolution

Stuart Gibbs

ON ORDER BOOK
Mystery

With SPYDER apparently defeated, thirteen-year-old Benjamin Ripley is hoping for some peace at spy school, but when the CIA conference room next to where Ben and Alexander are trying to explain everything to Ben's parents (no easy task) is blown up, suspicion falls on fellow trainee (and secret crush) Erica.

Anne W's picture

newest in the hugely popular, funny mystery Spy School series! -Anne W

Holding : a novel book cover

Holding : a novel

Graham Norton

MYSTERY Norton Graham
Mystery

"From Graham Norton, the BAFTA-award-winning Irish television host and author of the "sparkling and impish" (Daily Mail) memoirs The Life and Loves of a He Devil and So Me, comes a charming debut novel set in an idyllic Irish village where a bumbling investigator has to sort through decades of gossip and secrets to solve a mysterious crime. The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama but when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke--a former lover of two different inhabitants--the village's dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated sergeant PJ Collins struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community's worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret. In this darkly comic, touching, and at times heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling's The Casual Vacancy, Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore--with searing honesty--the complexities and contradictions that make us human"--

Stacey's picture

Added by Stacey

Deja dead book cover

Deja dead

Kathy Reichs

MYSTERY Reichs, Kathy
Mystery

Stacey's picture

Added by Stacey

Borkmann's point book cover

Borkmann's point

Håkan Nesser

MYSTERY Nesser, Hakan
Mystery

Stacey's picture

Added by Stacey

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency book cover

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency

Alexander McCall Smith

MYSTERY McCall Smith, Alexander
Mystery

Stacey's picture

Added by Stacey