Mystery

Devil in a blue dress book cover

Devil in a blue dress

Walter Mosley

MYSTERY Mosley, Walter
Mystery, Black Lives Matter

Set in the late 1940s, in the African-American community of Watts, Los Angeles, Devil in a Blue Dress follows Easy Rawlins, a black war veteran just fired from his job at a defense plant. Easy is drinking in a friend's bar, wondering how he'll meet his mortgage, when a white man in a linen suit walks in, offering good money if Easy will simply locate Miss Daphne Monet, a blonde beauty known to frequent black jazz clubs.

Brian's picture

Added by Brian

King and the dragonflies book cover

King and the dragonflies

Kacen Callender

jFICTION Callende Kacen
Fiction, Mystery, LGBTQ+, Kids

"In a small but turbulent Louisiana town, one boy's grief takes him beyond the bayous of his backyard, to learn that there is no right way to be yourself"--

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

One of us is next book cover

One of us is next

Karen M. McManus

eAUDIO
Young Adult, Mystery, Suspense

"A year after the Bayview four were cleared of Simon Kelleher's death, a new mystery has cropped up--a game with dangerous consequences that's targeting students at Bayview again. And if the creator isn't found soon, dangerous could prove deadly"--

Casey's picture

"Everyone's learned by now how to win this game. Always take the dare." I dare you to put this fun and fast-paced follow up to "One of us is Lying" down. -Casey

American spy : a novel book cover

American spy : a novel

Lauren Wilkinson

eBOOK
Mystery

Frannie's picture

Added by Frannie

My lovely wife book cover

My lovely wife

Samantha Downing

eBOOK
Mystery

Frannie's picture

Added by Frannie

Good Girl, Bad Girl : a novel book cover

Good Girl, Bad Girl : a novel

Michael Robotham

eBOOK
Mystery

A girl is found hiding in a secret room in a house being renovated after a terrible crime. For weeks she has survived by sneaking out at night, stealing food for herself and two dogs that are kept in the garden. She doesn't appear on any missing person's file, or match the DNA of any murder victim. Six years later, still unidentified, the same girl is living in a secure children's home with a new name, Evie Cormac, when she initiates a court case demanding the right to be released as an adult. Psychologist Cyrus Haven is sent to interview Evie and decide if she's ready to go free, but Evie Cormac is unlike he's anyone he's ever met. She's damaged, destructive, and self-hating, yet possessed of a gift, or a curse, that makes her both fascinating and dangerous to be with--the ability to tell when someone is lying. Soon he is embroiled in her unique and dangerous world, his life in utmost peril.

Frannie's picture

Added by Frannie

The river : a novel book cover

The river : a novel

Peter Heller

eBOOK
Mystery

"A novel about two college friends on a summer wilderness canoe trip"--

Frannie's picture

Added by Frannie

Miracle Creek book cover

Miracle Creek

Angie Kim

eBOOK
Mystery

"A literary courtroom thriller about a mother accused of murdering her eight-year-old autistic son"--

Frannie's picture

Added by Frannie

The Stranger Diaries book cover

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths

eBOOK
Mystery

"From the author of the beloved Ruth Galloway series, a modern gothic mystery for fans of Magpie Murders and The Lake House"--

Frannie's picture

Added by Frannie