Fiction

Red, white & royal blue : a novel book cover

Red, white & royal blue : a novel

Casey McQuiston

FICTION Mcquisto Casey
Fiction, LGBTQ+, Romance

After an international incident affects U.S. and British relations, the president's son Alex and Prince Henry must pretend to be best friends, but as they spend time together, the two begin a secret romance that could derail a presidential campaign.

Jason's picture

Added by Jason

Speak no evil : a novel book cover

Speak no evil : a novel

Uzodinma Iweala

FICTION Iweala Uzodinma
Fiction, LGBTQ+

An athlete from a private school in Washington, D.C., and his friend, the daughter of government insiders, struggle with the responses to the young man's sexual orientation before finding themselves speeding toward a violent future.

Jason's picture

Added by Jason

Willa & Hesper book cover

Willa & Hesper

Amy Feltman

FICTION Feltman Amy
Fiction, LGBTQ+

A story told from alternating perspectives traces the whirlwind romance of two women who are separated when one returns to her family's home in Tbilisi, Georgia, to uncover her grandfather's story and the other heartbrokenly embarks on a Holocaust tour.

Jason's picture

Added by Jason

The life list : a novel book cover

The life list : a novel

Lori Nelson Spielman

FICTION Spielman Lori
Fiction

In this utterly charming debut—perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern’s P.S., I Love You and Allison Winn Scotch’s Time of My Life—one woman sets out to complete her old list of childhood goals, and finds that her lifelong dreams lead her down a path she never expects. 1. Go to Paris 2. Have a baby, maybe two 3. Fall in love Brett Bohlinger seems to have it all: a plum job, a spacious loft, an irresistibly handsome boyfriend. All in all, a charmed life. That is, until her beloved mother passes away, leaving behind a will with one big stipulation: In order to receive her inheritance, Brett must first complete the life list of goals she’d written when she was a naïve girl of fourteen. Grief-stricken, Brett can barely make sense of her mother’s decision—her childhood dreams don’t resemble her ambitions at age thirty-four in the slightest. Some seem impossible. How can she possibly have a relationship with a father who died seven years ago? Other goals (Be an awesome teacher!) would require her to reinvent her entire future. As Brett reluctantly embarks on a perplexing journey in search of her adolescent dreams, one thing becomes clear. Sometimes life’s sweetest gifts can be found in the most unexpected places.

Meredith's picture

Mom knows best in this sweet story. It took me a few chapters to get into the story, but once I did, I couldn't put it down! -Meredith

Orange world and other stories book cover

Orange world and other stories

Karen Russell

FICTION Russell Karen
Fiction

From the Pulitzer finalist and universally beloved author of the New York Times best sellers Swamplandia! and Vampires in the Lemon Grove, a stunning new collection of short fiction that showcases her extraordinary gifts of language and imagination

Jason's picture

Just started this new short story collection, I loved her earlier books! -Jason

Little known facts : a novel book cover

Little known facts : a novel

Christine Sneed

FICTION Sneed Christin
Fiction

The people who orbit around Renn Ivins, an actor of Harrison Ford-like stature--his girlfriends, his children, his ex-wives, those on the periphery--long to experience the glow of his flame. Anna and Will are Renn's grown children, struggling to be authentic versions of themselves in a world where they are seen as less important extensions of their father. They are both drawn to and repelled by the man who overshadows every part of them. Most of us can imagine the perks of celebrity, but Little Known Facts offers a clear-eyed story of its effects--the fallout of fame and fortune on family members and others who can neither fully embrace nor ignore the superstar in their midst. With Little Known Facts, Christine Sneed emerges as one of the most insightful chroniclers of our celebrity-obsessed age, telling a story of influence and affluence, of forging identity and happiness and a moral compass; the question being, if we could have anything on earth, would we choose correctly?

Meredith's picture

I don't watch a lot of TV or go to a lot of movies, but celebrity gossip blogs are my favorite. I may not always known who the stars are in these blogs, but that doesn't matter when the dirt is good. :) This book was like reading a particularly juicy tidbit. Little Known Facts is a fictional look at the celebrity lifestyle through Renn Ivins. He's in his 50s, has two kids in their 20s and two ex-wives, but Hollywood still loves him. That's great for his career, but what about his life? Or the lives of those close to him? This book shows the ups and downs of fame through several characters. I'm not saying being a rich movie star sounds terrible, but you really do give up a lot to have it all. -Meredith

Kitchens of the great Midwest book cover

Kitchens of the great Midwest

J. Ryan Stradal

FICTION Stradal J. Ryan
Fiction

When Lars Thorvald's wife, Cynthia, falls in love with wine--and a dashing sommelier--he's left to raise their baby, Eva, on his own. He's determined to pass on his love of food to his daughter--starting with puréed pork shoulder. As Eva grows, she finds her solace and salvation in the flavors of her native Minnesota. From Scandinavian lutefisk to hydroponic chocolate habaneros, each ingredient represents one part of Eva's journey as she becomes the star chef behind a legendary and secretive pop-up supper club, culminating in an opulent and emotional feast that's a testament to her spirit and resilience. Each chapter in J. Ryan Stradal's startlingly original debut tells the story of a single dish and character, at once capturing the zeitgeist of the Midwest, the rise of foodie culture, and delving into the ways food creates community and a sense of identity. By turns quirky, hilarious, and vividly sensory, Kitchens of the Great Midwest is an unexpected mother-daughter story about the bittersweet nature of life--its missed opportunities and its joyful surprises. It marks the entry of a brilliant new talent.

Meredith's picture

Recommended to me by a friend, this is an amazing story about one woman's history with food, and how it shapes her past, present and future, as well as those around her. -Meredith

Where the crawdads sing book cover

Where the crawdads sing

Delia Owens

FICTION ON DISC Owens, Delia
Fiction

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. She's barefoot and wild; unfit for polite society. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark. But Kya is not what they say. Abandoned at age ten, she has survived on her own in the marsh that she calls home. A born naturalist with just one day of school, she takes life lessons from the land, learning from the false signals of fireflies the real way of this world. But while she could have lived in solitude forever, the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. Drawn to two young men from town, who are each intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new and startling world -- until the unthinkable happens.

Kara's picture

Where the Crawdads Sing is a lyrical, coming of age story by Delia Owens about a girl who lives on the North Carolina coast and, as a young child, is abandoned by her family. I listened to the last chapter twice and enjoyed the book so much I wanted to start again at the beginning. Cassandra Campbell’s narration is excellent. -Kara

What we keep book cover

What we keep

Elizabeth Berg

eAUDIO
Fiction

Ginny Young is on a plane, en route to see her mother, whom she hasn't seen or spoken to for thirty-five years. She thinks back to the summer of 1958, when she and her sister, Sharla, were young girls. Moving back and forth in time between the girl she once was and the woman she's become, Ginny at last confronts painful choices that occur in almost any woman's life, and learns surprising truths about the people she thought she knew best.

Meredith's picture

A story about forgiveness and family relationships that I finished in a day! -Meredith

Where'd you go, Bernadette : a novel book cover

Where'd you go, Bernadette : a novel

Maria Semple

eAUDIO
Fiction

Bernadette Fox has vanished. When her daughter Bee claims a family trip to Antarctica as a reward for perfect grades, Bernadette, a fiercely intelligent shut-in, throws herself into preparations for the trip. But worn down by years of trying to live the Seattle life she never wanted, Ms. Fox is on the brink of a meltdown. And after a school fundraiser goes disastrously awry at her hands, she disappears, leaving her family to pick up the pieces--which is exactly what Bee does, weaving together an elaborate web of emails, invoices, and school memos that reveals a secret past Bernadette has been hiding for decades. Where'd You Go Bernadette is an ingenious and unabashedly entertaining novel about a family coming to terms with who they are and the power of a daughter's love for her mother.

Meredith's picture

Very funny, sometimes sad and a good reminder that ignoring what you're supposed to do and who you're supposed to be has consequences. Playing it safe blows up in your face eventually. -Meredith