Self Help

Broken: (in the best possible way) book cover

Broken: (in the best possible way)

Jenny Lawson

2nd Floor Shelf BIOGRAPHY/Lawson, Jenny
Humor, Self Help

As Jenny Lawson's hundreds of thousands of fans know, she suffers from depression. In Broken (in the best possible way), she explores her experimental treatment of transcranial magnetic stimulation with brutal honesty. But also with brutal humor: "People do different things to distract themselves during each treatment. I embroider. It feels fitting. I'm being magnetically stabbed in the head thousands of times as I'm stabbing the embroidery myself. I don't embroider the same patterns my grandmother did. I embroider girls with octopus faces, David Bowie, a flowery bouquet with FUCK YES written in the middle. They let you do anything as long as it's 'positive.'" Jenny discusses the frustration of dealing with her insurance company in "An Open Letter to My Insurance Company," which should be an anthem for anyone who has ever had to call their insurance company to try and get a claim covered. On the lighter side, she tackles such timelessly debated questions as "How do dogs know they have penises?" We see how her vacuum cleaner almost set her house on fire, how she was attacked by three bears, business ideas she wants to pitch to Shark Tank, and why she can never go back to the post office. Of course, Jenny's long-suffering husband Victor-the Ricky to Jenny's Lucille Ball-is present throughout. A treat for Jenny Lawson's already existing fans, and destined to convert new ones, Broken is a beacon of hope and a wellspring of laughter.

Victoria's picture

Thank you Jenny Lawson for another hilarious, mortifying and insightful sojourn into your wacky and entirely relatable world. Lawson hits all of the important things you may have thought about yourself but have never admitted out loud. I definitely received some suspicious looks on the bus ride home for giggling to myself- not sorry! Fallible is the new flawless y'all! Fans of David Sedaris, Allie Brosh and Samantha Irby will appreciate this one. -Victoria

The bullet journal method : track the past, order the present, design the future book cover

The bullet journal method : track the past, order the present, design the future

Ryder Carroll

640.43 /Carroll
Self Help, Philosophy

For years Carroll tried countless organizing systems, online and off, but none of them fit the way his mind worked. He developed the Bullet Journal, and it helped him become consistently focused and effective. Now he shows readers how the Bullet Journal method can help you weed out distractions and focus your time and energy in pursuit of what's truly meaningful, in both your work and your personal life. -- adapted from back cover

Casey's picture

The Bullet Journal Method is a great way to get organized as we move into 2021. I'm so glad I've re-read it throughout this year, and am heading back to tackle a few sections once more before the New Year. -Casey

The 5 love languages of teenagers book cover

The 5 love languages of teenagers

Gary D. Chapman

649.125 /Chapman
Self Help

Starting with the world in which your teenager livers, Dr. Chapman walks through the emotional needs of teenagers and how you can best express your love to them.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

Untangled : guiding teenage girls through the seven transitions into adulthood book cover

Untangled : guiding teenage girls through the seven transitions into adulthood

Lisa Damour

305.2352 /Damour
Science, Self Help

"Lisa Damour, Ph.D., director of the internationally renowned Laurel School's Center for Research on Girls, pulls back the curtain on the teenage years and shows why your daughter's erratic and confusing behavior is actually healthy, necessary, and natural. Untangled explains what's going on, prepares parents for what's to come, and lets them know when it's time to worry,"--Amazon.com.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

Help your kids with adolescence : a no-nonsense guide to puberty and the teenage years. book cover

Help your kids with adolescence : a no-nonsense guide to puberty and the teenage years.

649.125 /Help
Self Help

Presents a guide to helping parents and children survive and thrive through the teenage years, covering such topics as emotional well-being, physical changes, online safety, family dynamics, relationships, and sexuality.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

A new theory of teenagers : seven transformational strategies to empower you and your teen book cover

A new theory of teenagers : seven transformational strategies to empower you and your teen

Christa Santangelo

649.125 /Santangelo
Science, Self Help

"A guide for families to thrive in the midst of the tumultuous teen years--and the culmination of the author's twenty-five years of experience in both conventional psychology and alternative methods" -- Amazon.com.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

Grown and flown : how to support your teen, stay close as a family, and raise independent adults book cover

Grown and flown : how to support your teen, stay close as a family, and raise independent adults

Lisa Heffernan

649.125 /Heffernan
Self Help

Lisa Heffernan and Mary Dell Harrington are here to help. While seeing their own kids through this transition, they realized they needed some support. Thats why they founded Grown and Flown, an online community for parents of teens. And it turns out they werent the only ones looking for advice for how to parent through the teenage years. The Grown and Flown community has become a top resource for curated content from experts, related stories of shared experiences, and tried and true advice and tips. And now, for the first time, Lisa and Mary Dell have gathered key takeaways on the most important subjects to form this essential guide.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W