Self Help

You are your best thing : vulnerability, shame resilience, and the Black experience -- an anthology book cover

You are your best thing : vulnerability, shame resilience, and the Black experience -- an anthology

152.44 /You
Black Lives Matter, Self Help

This stark, potent collection of essays on Black shame and healing present a space to be vulnerable and affirm the fullness of Black love and Black life. They allow readers to recognize and process the trauma of sexual assault, and white supremacy and sexual assault, in order to work toward healing. Through lived experiences, we can work to dismantle oppressive systems-- of all types-- in this country. -- adapted from jacket and Introduction.

Victoria's picture

I've read much of Brené Brown's work, but I think this one is my favorites so far because it builds on her framework in a different way. These essays lay out what vulnerability, shame resilience and determination can look like in BIPOC places and spaces. By cracking open who can authentically feel and more importantly learn to thrive by being vulnerable and succeeding despite what has happened to them in the past, her contributing authors offer insight and solace for the reader. The reader can feel more resonance with the authenticity of her work in a way they may never have been able to before. As we begin to see each other on a spectrum of cultural experiences, backgrounds, social statuses, mental health and gender, we have a greater capacity to learn, empathize, communicate and share in each other's vulnerabilities. I loved this book! -Victoria

Broken: (in the best possible way) book cover

Broken: (in the best possible way)

Jenny Lawson


Humor, Self Help

"As Jenny Lawson's hundreds of thousands of fans know, she suffers from depression. In Broken (in the best possible way), she explores her experimental treatment of transcranial magnetic stimulation with brutal honesty. But also with brutal humor: "People do different things to distract themselves during each treatment. I embroider. It feels fitting. I'm being magnetically stabbed in the head thousands of times as I'm stabbing the embroidery myself. I don't embroider the same patterns my grandmother did. I embroider girls with octopus faces, David Bowie, a flowery bouquet with FUCK YES written in the middle. They let you do anything as long as it's 'positive.'" Jenny discusses the frustration of dealing with her insurance company in "An Open Letter to My Insurance Company," which should be an anthem for anyone who has ever had to call their insurance company to try and get a claim covered. On the lighter side, she tackles such timelessly debated questions as "How do dogs know they have penises?" We see how her vacuum cleaner almost set her house on fire, how she was attacked by three bears, business ideas she wants to pitch to Shark Tank, and why she can never go back to the post office. Of course, Jenny's long-suffering husband Victor-the Ricky to Jenny's Lucille Ball-is present throughout. A treat for Jenny Lawson's already existing fans, and destined to convert new ones, Broken is a beacon of hope and a wellspring of laughter"-- Provided by publisher.

Victoria's picture

Thank you Jenny Lawson for another hilarious, mortifying and insightful sojourn into your wacky and entirely relatable world. Lawson hits all of the important things you may have thought about yourself but have never admitted out loud. I definitely received some suspicious looks on the bus ride home for giggling to myself- not sorry! Fallible is the new flawless y'all! Fans of David Sedaris, Allie Brosh and Samantha Irby will appreciate this one. -Victoria

The bullet journal method : track the past, order the present, design the future book cover

The bullet journal method : track the past, order the present, design the future

Ryder Carroll

640.43 /Carroll
Self Help, Philosophy

For years Carroll tried countless organizing systems, online and off, but none of them fit the way his mind worked. He developed the Bullet Journal, and it helped him become consistently focused and effective. Now he shows readers how the Bullet Journal method can help you weed out distractions and focus your time and energy in pursuit of what's truly meaningful, in both your work and your personal life. -- adapted from back cover

Casey's picture

The Bullet Journal Method is a great way to get organized as we move into 2021. I'm so glad I've re-read it throughout this year, and am heading back to tackle a few sections once more before the New Year. -Casey

The healing power of mindfulness : a new way of being book cover

The healing power of mindfulness : a new way of being

Jon Kabat-Zinn

158.12 /Kabat-Zinn
Health, Self Help

More than twenty years ago, Jon Kabat-Zinn showed us the value of cultivating greater awareness in everyday life with his now-classic introduction to mindfulness, Wherever You Go, There You Are. Now, in The Healing Power of Mindfulness, he shares a cornucopia of specific examples as to how the cultivation of mindfulness can reshape your relationship with your own body and mind--explaining what we're learning about neuroplasticity and the brain, how meditation can affect our biology and our health, and what mindfulness can teach us about coming to terms with all sorts of life challenges, including our own mortality, so we can make the most of the moments that we have. Originally published in 2005 as part of a larger book titled Coming to Our Senses, The Healing Power of Mindfulness features a new foreword by the author and timely updates throughout the text. If you are interested in learning more about how mindfulness as a way of being can help us to heal, physically and emotionally, look no further than this deeply personal and also "deeply optimistic book, grounded in good science and filled with practical recommendations for moving in the right direction" (Andrew Weil, MD), from one of the pioneers of the worldwide mindfulness movement.

Candice's picture

Added by Candice

The 5 love languages of teenagers book cover

The 5 love languages of teenagers

Gary D. Chapman

649.125 /Chapman
Self Help

Starting with the world in which your teenager livers, Dr. Chapman walks through the emotional needs of teenagers and how you can best express your love to them.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

Untangled : guiding teenage girls through the seven transitions into adulthood book cover

Untangled : guiding teenage girls through the seven transitions into adulthood

Lisa Damour

305.2352 /Damour
Science, Self Help

"Lisa Damour, Ph.D., director of the internationally renowned Laurel School's Center for Research on Girls, pulls back the curtain on the teenage years and shows why your daughter's erratic and confusing behavior is actually healthy, necessary, and natural. Untangled explains what's going on, prepares parents for what's to come, and lets them know when it's time to worry,"--Amazon.com.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W

Help your kids with adolescence : a no-nonsense guide to puberty and the teenage years. book cover

Help your kids with adolescence : a no-nonsense guide to puberty and the teenage years.

649.125 /Help
Self Help

Presents a guide to helping parents and children survive and thrive through the teenage years, covering such topics as emotional well-being, physical changes, online safety, family dynamics, relationships, and sexuality.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W