Masks are required in the Library and on the Bookmobile following guidance from the Johnson County Public Health Department.

Humor

As you wish : inconceivable tales from the making of The princess bride book cover

As you wish : inconceivable tales from the making of The princess bride

Cary Elwes

791.4372 /Princess
Nonfiction, Humor

From actor Cary Elwes, who played the iconic role of Westley in The Princess Bride, comes a first-person account and behind-the-scenes look at the making of the cult classic film filled with never-before-told stories, exclusive photographs, and interviews with costars Robin Wright, Wallace Shawn, Billy Crystal, Christopher Guest, and Mandy Patinkin, as well as author and screenwriter William Goldman, producer Norman Lear, and director Rob Reiner.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

The princess bride : S. Morgenstern's classic tale of true love and high adventure : The "good parts" version, abridged book cover

The princess bride : S. Morgenstern's classic tale of true love and high adventure : The "good parts" version, abridged

William Goldman

FICTION Goldman, William
Fiction, Humor

In a Renaissance-era world, a young woman named Buttercup lives on a farm in the country of Florin. She abuses the farm hand Westley, calling him "farm boy" and demands that he perform chores for her. Westley's response to her demands is always "As you wish." She eventually realizes that what he is saying is, "I love you." After Buttercup realizes that she loves him and confesses her feelings, Westley goes to seek his fortune so they can marry. Buttercup later receives a letter that the Dread Pirate Roberts attacked his ship at sea. Believing Westley dead, Buttercup sinks into despair. Later she reluctantly agrees to marry Prince Humperdinck, heir to the throne of Florin.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

The Eyre affair book cover

The Eyre affair

Jasper Fforde

SCIENCE FICTION Fforde, Jasper
Science Fiction, Humor

Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, a detective with SO-27, the LiteraTec division, who's job is to solve crimes related to literature. When the original manuscript of Martin Chuzzlewit by Charles Dickens disappears under impossible circumstances, Thursday finds herself drawn into an investigation that is more deadly than anything she has experienced thus far in her career.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

The Wee Free Men book cover

The Wee Free Men

Terry Pratchett

YOUNG ADULT FICTION Pratchett, Terry
Young Adult, Humor

A young witch-to-be named Tiffany teams up with the Wee Free Men, a clan of six-inch-high blue men, to rescue her baby brother and ward off a sinister invasion from Fairyland.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

Fool book cover

Fool

Christopher Moore

FICTION Moore, Christopher
Humor

Pocket, King Lear's fool, sets out to straighten out the mess the mad king has made of the kingdom and the royal family, only to discover the truth about his own heritage.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

Four to score book cover

Four to score

Janet Evanovich

MYSTERY Evanovich, Janet
Mystery, Humor

Stephanie Plum, Trenton, New Jersey's favorite pistol-packing, condom-carrying bounty hunter, is back---and on the trail of a revenge-seeking waitress who's skipped bail. With the help of seventy-three-year-old Grandma Mazur, ex-hooker Lula, a transvestite musician named Sally Sweet, and the all-too-sexy Joe Morelli, Stephanie might just catch her woman. Then again, with more mishaps than there are exits on the Jersey Turnpike---including murders, firebombs, and Stephanie's arch-rival bounty hunter chasing after the same fugitive---Stephanie better watch her back big-time if she wants to live to crack this case.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

Much ado about nothing book cover

Much ado about nothing

William Shakespeare

822.33 /MuchAdo
Classics, Humor

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

Lobster is the best medicine : a collection of comics about friendship book cover

Lobster is the best medicine : a collection of comics about friendship

Liz Climo

COMIC Climo
Humor

A celebration of friendship returns readers to a quirky animal kingdom where a menagerie of grizzlies, bunny rabbits, and other critters humorously explore relationship issues.

Victoria's picture

A pure and honest series of comics documenting the ups and down of friendship. This book is so cute. Fans of Sarah Anderson Nathan W. Pyle and Allie Brosh will get a kick out of this. -Victoria

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens agenda book cover

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens agenda

Becky Albertalli

YOUNG ADULT FICTION Albertalli, Becky
LGBTQ+, Humor, Romance, Young Adult

"Sixteen-year-old, not-so-openly-gay Simon Spier is blackmailed into playing wingman for his classmate or else his sexual identity--and that of his pen pal--will be revealed"--

Victoria's picture

An authentic and utterly heart-warming story. Simon is adorable; you will instantly like him and this is a wonderful "love is love" tale! -Victoria

Broken: (in the best possible way) book cover

Broken: (in the best possible way)

Jenny Lawson


Humor, Self Help

"As Jenny Lawson's hundreds of thousands of fans know, she suffers from depression. In Broken (in the best possible way), she explores her experimental treatment of transcranial magnetic stimulation with brutal honesty. But also with brutal humor: "People do different things to distract themselves during each treatment. I embroider. It feels fitting. I'm being magnetically stabbed in the head thousands of times as I'm stabbing the embroidery myself. I don't embroider the same patterns my grandmother did. I embroider girls with octopus faces, David Bowie, a flowery bouquet with FUCK YES written in the middle. They let you do anything as long as it's 'positive.'" Jenny discusses the frustration of dealing with her insurance company in "An Open Letter to My Insurance Company," which should be an anthem for anyone who has ever had to call their insurance company to try and get a claim covered. On the lighter side, she tackles such timelessly debated questions as "How do dogs know they have penises?" We see how her vacuum cleaner almost set her house on fire, how she was attacked by three bears, business ideas she wants to pitch to Shark Tank, and why she can never go back to the post office. Of course, Jenny's long-suffering husband Victor-the Ricky to Jenny's Lucille Ball-is present throughout. A treat for Jenny Lawson's already existing fans, and destined to convert new ones, Broken is a beacon of hope and a wellspring of laughter"-- Provided by publisher.

Victoria's picture

Thank you Jenny Lawson for another hilarious, mortifying and insightful sojourn into your wacky and entirely relatable world. Lawson hits all of the important things you may have thought about yourself but have never admitted out loud. I definitely received some suspicious looks on the bus ride home for giggling to myself- not sorry! Fallible is the new flawless y'all! Fans of David Sedaris, Allie Brosh and Samantha Irby will appreciate this one. -Victoria